#prnsarawak For the upcoming poll, there are 82 seats at stake, after 11 additional seats were created from the redelineation exercise conducted by the EC last year.

As you can see from the map, out of the 11 new constituencies, those with a majority of Malay-Melanau voters are in Gedong, Kabong and Tel-lian.

The Iban-majority is in Stakan, Serilik and Samalaju; Orang Ulu in Murum and Long Lama; Bidayuh in Serembu and Triboh; while Batu Kitang has a majority of Chinese voters.

A total of one million 138 thousand 650 Sarawakians are eligible to vote in this election, compared to 979 thousand 796 voters in 2011.

Out of the total, 1,113,522 are ordinary voters, while 25 thousand 22 are absentee voters, comprising early voters from the military, police and General Operations Force and their spouses, and 106 postal voters abroad.

Early voting will be held on May 3.

The EC would appoint 82 returning officers, one for each of the constituencies, as well as 20,811 election workers to conduct the election, estimated to cost RM135.6 million.

This includes the use of 38 helicopters to travel to 21 rural areas, which are not reachable by boat or road vehicles.

One thousand 879 premises would be used as polling centres, with 2,959 polling streams.

The outcome of the poll will also provide an indicator for the BN to strengthen and consolidate the party machinery, in facing the 14th general election, which is likely to be held in 2018.