Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem today announced the names of 10 candidates from the Sarawak United People's Party, SUPP to contest the upcoming state election.

He said the full list of candidates, including those from breakaway parties UPP and Teras, would be made known a week before nomination day.

Tan Sri Adenan's announcement, however, comes as a surprise as SUPP had previously requested to contest 21 seats this time around.

It was understood, however, that SUPP will receive another five seats in Dayak-majority areas.

In the last state election in 2011, SUPP contested 19 seats but won only 6.

The remaining 13 seats were all won by DAP.